The blacker the berry, the sweeter the juice

I, have been getting gardening fever lately. But because we don’t rent a house with a yard (we live in a bachelor flat), I can’t get super fancy with it. So the only option I have is to create an indoor kitchen garden.

Because our kitchen is tiny (we survive), we have to get creative with how we use our space. At first, I was thinking of doing a palette box for the window sill. The step that followed, was to measure out the window sill. Much to my disappointment, it is way too thin to solidly hold the box (the free (I like that word) palettes I would have used are too thick) . I quickly gave up on the box idea, but when I was I was on Pinterest, I saw an even better and quicker alternative. Tin Cans. Glob knows we buy more than enough tinned tomatoes.

Since I haven’t dabbled in indoor gardening before I am deciding to plant some herbs first. In my opinion, everybody should have some fresh herbs around (because fresh herbs are life). In my measurings, I worked out that I could have 7 (8 at a push) medium sized tin cans (I like Rhodes cans, because the lid comes off beautifully). I do have access to free, good quality soil for planting with (its red and pretty). We get really decent weather here in the coast, and the climate is warm most of the year.

Top herb choices:

  • Basil

  • Parsley (curly leaf)

  • Cilantro (coriander)

  • Thyme

  • Sage

  • Oregano (Greek)

  • Mint

  • Rosemary (not really a fan)

I just have to collect the cans now (4 down, 4 more to go), as well as hunt down the seeds I want. It’s bloody exciting!!!

This is me… trying to learn how to make things grow… and hoping not to kill them.

Leave a Reply

