Akukho mali, Asinamali, As’funi mali, S’fun’ ubumnandi

I couldn’t sleep last night, so I decided to work on my post for today.

So its 9pm (how the fuck am I awake) and since I’m up, I have decided to write. I was playing solitaire a little earlier, and I heard a song that bought me back to the end of 2014. It was my first year in culinary college, and from November 2014 to May 2015 I had industry training. I was in Cape Town. And I was riding on such a fucking high from that. You have to understand, in my opinion for anything that has to do with food, you should be there.

I found my own placement for training, and when I go there, I fell in love. I fell in love with the city, the vibe, the food (still not a snoek fan though) and the people I met (Matties, Meyer, Peace and Juju, were honestly the coolest guys ever). I was so determined to finish the rest of my course in that city (it didn’t work out in the end, and no, I’m glad). What I did not fall in love with though was the rental situation (I feel as if I am cursed), but that is for another rant. I both loved and hated the Burger King that I lived 8 minutes away from (it pissed me off that it was at Cape Town station though, and there we were in Durban still forming lines at the only one in KZN at “The Pavillion”). The people I met there I will hunt down one day, there were some cool ass people (some of them at least). Not far from where I lived on “Lower Main Rd”, was an asian restaurant that had this amazeballs chow mein. Lucky for me the pork one I liked was always on special at like R35 (its big enough for two meals, so it’s basically R17.5 a portion). There was also the obz cafe (all I will say is, Jack Daniels burger).

I saw myself discovering myself in that city. Sadly I ended up unable to study there, as the campus had cancelled that class. But one day, I will be back in that city. I will explore it, like I should have while I was there. Its ok though, because the next time I’m there I will have my best friend along for the ride.

This is me…thinking that goals are good, but a dream can sometimes be better.

Dom: Never been, but hey… Rosendaal is a tiny town that literally has a horse and has a very beautiful chapel…

Leave a Reply

